8.00 Foreign Assets Control

The U.S. Treasury Departments Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) issues a list of sanctioned countries as part of the U.S. Government's effort to fight terrorist financing and bank crimes under such regulations as the Patriot Act and the Bank Secrecy Act. MIT will no longer permit the issuance of payments or purchase orders to companies or consultants located in sanctioned countries or which call for delivery to sanctioned countries without approval from the proper authorities.

Travelers to sanctioned countries must sign MIT's travel form before departure, acknowledging risk and personal responsibility for the decision to travel. Forms for faculty/staff and students are available from the MIT Office of Insurance. Original signed forms reside at DLC. Send copies to VPF Travel (NE49-4000) and Office of Insurance (NE36).

Travelers to sanctioned countries also must contact Research Administration Services (RAS) before making travel plans or transferring any item or information in any medium to any individual entity (whether a U.S. citizen or not) in sanctioned countries. RAS will help determine whether travel to these countries is banned or whether a license is required or any other OFAC restrictions apply. In addition, read the MIT International Travel Risk Policy for an updated list of countries with extreme, high, or moderate travel warnings at the Office of Insurance website.

Contact Research Administration Services with questions on OFAC restrictions on procurement or travel.